PretoriaPretoria Mon - Fri 07:30-17:00 +(012) 394-3200

The Competition Tribunal Rules

The Competition Commission > The Competition Tribunal Rules

The Competition Tribunal Rules

Did you know that

The Tribunal was established in terms of section 26 .

The Tribunal is established in terms of section 26 of the Act and has jurisdiction throughout the Republic. It is a tribunal of record and independent from the other competition institutions. The Tribunal is headed by a chairperson appointed by the President of the Republic. In addition, the Act requires the appointment of a minimum of three and a maximum of ten Tribunal members, who are also appointed by the President and may be either full-time or part-time, depending on the recommendations of the Minister. Each member of the Tribunal, including the Chairperson, serves for a term of five years but may be re-appointed for the second term. The Chairperson may not serve for more than two consecutive terms. The Tribunals main functions are to grant exemptions, authorize or prohibit large mergers (with or without conditions) or prohibit a merger, adjudicate in relation to any conduct prohibited in terms of chapter 2 or 3 of the Act and to grant an order for costs in terms of section 57 of the Act on matters presented to it by the Commission. The Chairperson may appoint permanent staff to assist the Tribunal in carrying out its functions.

Quick Links